Outgoing President re-elected at IOHA A.G.M.

The 2014 Annual General Meeting of the Irish Olympic Handball Association was held on Monday July 14th in Irish Sports HQ.

The main item of business was the election of President of the Association for a 3 year term, outgoing President, Mr. Fintan Lyons was re-elected unopposed.

Below are some of the main points from the President’s opening address to the gathered delegates

  • Congratulations to Dublin International Handball Club and Astra Handball Club on winning the Men’s league and Cup double and the IOHA Gathering and Ladies Cup respectively.
  • Congratulations to Belfast Handball Club and Sperrin Spartans Handball Club for competing in the Senior Men’s league for the first time.
  • Thanked out going Board members Ciarán O’Brannagáin and Vincent Foster for their service to handball.
  • Thanked Alex Markovic for his work with the Irish Men’s Squad since the Gathering Tournament.
  • Congratulated  Mark Ferguson and Darren Taylor on coaching the U-20 Men’s squad to 7th place in the recent IHF Trophy in Andorra. He also thanked Tomas Vit and Andis Rikmanis for travelling to the tournament and undergoing the referee training course at the event.
  • The President mentioned how much of an honour for the Irish Olympic Handball Association it will be to host the European Handball Federations Congress in Dublin this September.


Also at the meeting IOHA Secretary, Michael Moloney,  presented to the delegates gathered the upcoming changes to European Events in the future and the EHF’s new regulations regarding Coach licensing.

Also presented at the AGM were the associations financial report for 2013 and the IOHA’s Anti Doping report.