EHF EURO 2014 Qualification Phase 1 Draw






The draw has been made for Qualification Phase 1 of EHF EURO 2014.

Group A: Ukraine, Cyprus, Finland, Luxembourg. Right to host: Finland

Group B: Greece, Switzerland, Italy, Great Britain Right to host: Italy

Group C: Romania, Israel, Belgium, Ireland. Right to host: Belgium

Group D: Estonia, Latvia, Turkey, Malta: Right to host: Turkey

Qualification will be played in two phases, with Phase 1 to be played in tournament format at one venue from Friday 8 June to Sunday 10 June 2012

Phase 2 will be played in a home and away format, seven groups of four teams in six qualification rounds.

Teams are playing for fifteen places, Denmark qualifying by right as organiser. The defending champions, in this case also Denmark, no longer receive a place from 2014.

The ‘fifteenth team’ will be decided from the third best ranked team in the qualifications groups. Only the matches against the first and second placed teams in each group taken into consideration.

A total of 22 teams directly qualified for the Qualification Phase 2, the four teams having qualified directly for the 2013 World Championship final tournament (Serbia, Croatia, Spain and France) and all those teams already qualified for the 2013 World Championship Qualification Europe Play-offs.

These are (in alphabetical order): AUT, BIH, BLR, CRO, CZE, ESP, FRA, GER, HUN, ISL, LTU, MKD, MNE, NED, NOR, POL, POR, RUS, SLO, SRB, SVK, SWE.

The matches will be played in form of tournaments at one weekend at one venue each (Friday 8 June to Sunday 10 June 2012).

Thanks to EHF Media Department for content